Proposal Story:

August 17, 2010

Last Thursday, Ryan and I went to Memphis to visit with my family and to celebrate our one year anniversary. He told me at the beginning of the summer that he wanted to celebrate by going on our first date again- {eating at the Blue Fin in downtown Memphis and looking out on the city from the top of the Peabody Hotel. We “officially” started dating while we were on the rooftop last year, even though we had been talking while I lived in Dallas that whole summer}.

I was a little suspicious because he changed dinner plans from the Blue Fin to Folks Folly ( a really nice steak place in Memphis). And if we are driving 4 hours to go on our first date, shouldn’t we really go on our first date? I was all for Folks Folly, but that created issues like what kind of outfit would be appropriate. Friday afternoon, Ryan, my mom, and I went shopping in Saddle Creek and Ryan, so generously, bought my dress and his shirt from J. Crew. That problem was solved.

Saturday, we got ready for the date and then drove down to dinner. We had such a great time and amazing meal- steak, salads, and twice-baked potato. Many of you know Folks Folly is BOMB! (Way to go Ryan!) After that, we drove downtown to the Peabody. Ryan had really had good control of his nerves until we parked… then the “humidity” began to take a toll.

We rode the elevator to the top and looked out on where it all started. He told me how amazing the past year had been (more than once) and then said I was the love of his life and that he wanted to be with me forever. With that, he got down on his knee, told me that he loved me, and asked if I would marry him. My only response was “REALLY, REALLY??”. Then I said yes!!!! I had forgotten all about that ring. It is amazing. A 1940’s antique that he purchased in APRIL.

He had schemed with my parents and they took pictures and videotaped the whole thing. Gray had kept the secret for a week. My brother, Holmes, is currently in Africa and doesn’t even know, but he will as soon as he gets an internet connection in Liberia.

We haven’t set a date in stone yet, but we are really excited about the future together!

Thanks so much for all the congratulations and care. We love you guys so much!

P.S. My last name is going to be Turtle. He is worth it.

2 Responses to “Proposal Story:”

  1. Amanda said

    Aaahhhhhhhhhh sweet story :) I’d been waiting for more details! I’m so excited for you two!

  2. hannah said

    yay thanks for the details. so sweet!!

Leave a Reply

