Some Complaints and Some Answers

June 28, 2010

While spending time with 3 of my most dedicated readers today (my grandmother, mother, and Aunt Jen), I heard some complaints that I haven’t been posting lately. I thought that I would give a brief update of my summer while I have a moment.

I have been working at Lulu’s a at least 4 days a week. It has been really fun to be able to decorate and arrange furniture. I have always considered interior design a hobby, but this job has given me more opportunity to practice.

During my free time, Ryan and I have started running… after about a month of consistency, I can now say I am enjoying it. We have also been cooking a lot and trying everything in our power to be entertained in Bowling Green. If you have never lived here, its harder than you might expect. The downtime has been really nice though and allowed so much time to think and discuss. I love endless hours of good conversation more than almost any other form of entertainment. Ryan is really patient with me and has been so kind to talk about every little random thing I can think of to ask. One of these conversations was about what we both want to do before we die… a bucket list-ish kind of talk. This topic and several others have given me so much joy in what the Lord has planned for me this summer. I have gotten to know Ryan so much better, but also grown in my love for Christ because of the things Ryan has taught me in the way he lives. God is so kind to bless me with good friends who are always spurring me on to love the Lord more.

Chet and Carley have also been amazing friends to me this summer. They are always speaking truth about the character of our God and the way I ought to live in return. Carley is so aware of the Lord’s glory and is always so encouraging. She desires that her friends love God and give Him all the praise He deserves. I love this about her. And Chet is so in tune to the Spirit this summer. She has reminded me of the importance of the Holy Spirit in the lives of believers. I am so grateful for these Godly women in my life… even though we are connected by our cellular devices.

In the rest of my spare time, Alyssa and I lay in our kiddy pool and talk about the things that have happened in the past 3 years. It is so funny to trace the steps that we have taken to get to this year. Sometimes I cannot even remember why I love Bowling Green, but I know it is because the Lord called me here and has desired for me to get to know Him while I am living in this town. I am so glad that He is in control of my life and that I am not. I have been changed because I have lived in Kentucky and have been surrounded by this community that deeply loves God.

So those are my thoughts right now. I hope that makes up for my lack of updates lately. I will try harder.

Here is a picture of me and the brothers in Memphis last week:

I am so glad I got to spend a couple days at home. They were MUCH needed. I got to catch up with my family and some friends. It really felt like therapy to be back at home. And Ryan and I are going back this Friday to celebrate the 4th of July with my family. I love visiting! I will try to do a better job of documenting that. Have a great week!

5 Responses to “Some Complaints and Some Answers”

  1. kim said

    Hands down, the best post ever! Thanks for sharing. Kim Clark

  2. Ryan Turtle said

    I second that. Ryan “Deacon” Turtle

  3. Grandy said

    Thanks so much for the post. I love reading your thoughts. Thanks also for the great time in BG. We had so much fun. Love you.

  4. Jen said

    Thanks for the shout out!!! Rainey and I had so much fun. You and Ryan both were so sweet to her. I am so happy to do the tour! I love all the stops.
    Can’t wait to see you again.

  5. Su Madre said

    She’s back!!! Really good to read you again. We will try to make some noteworthy moments on your visit this weekend. You are very blessed!

Leave a Reply

