Let my contrite heart rejoice

July 6, 2009

I have been struggling for days now to try to be able to come up with the words I need to write for this post.  After vocalizing it a couple times and being reminded of so much truth,  I think I can actually put into words what my heart is feeling.

Camp was interesting in so many ways.  There were so many kids that I had never seen before and were extremely hyped up about being there. Truth was preached, but at the same time it didn’t seem like the kids were getting it.  They are so numb to the Gospel.  There are many believers though and I know that they were strengthened this week.  It was just hard for me to see their emotional offerings of themselves as real.  I struggle believing that this wasn’t just a charade that they take part in yearly.  They are so focused on God’s love that they do not see their need for Him as Savior.  

I am grateful that we had cabin time every day to be able to preach truth to them in smaller groups and to hopefully help them grasp the other parts of the Gospel that they are lacking understanding in.  And then I am also faced with the depths of my sin and the harshness of my judging.  My souls longs to be like Christ, but so often I become prideful and step out of line.  This week was really a shock to me and I, like these kids, became emotional- but mostly because I fear for their souls.  I want them to know the whole Gospel- not just elevating parts that sound good to them.

My prayer for all of our students is that their ears would not be deaf, but that they would hear truth and be changed.  I fail to see the Lord’s power.  He will move and draw people to Himself.  Scripture teaches time and time again how the Lord will do His will despite human perspective.  Sophie sent me Isaiah 35 today that speaks of the Lord ransoming His people.  In verse 4-7 it says, “Say to those who have an anxious heart, ‘Be strong; fear not!  Behold, your God will come with vengeance, with the recompense of God, He will come and save you.’  Then the eyes of the blind shall be opened, and the ears of the deaf unstopped; then shall the lame man leap like a deer, and the tongue of the mute sing for joy.  For waters break forth in the wilderness, and streams in the desert; the burning sand shall become a pool. and the thirsty ground springs of water; in the haunt of jackals, where they lie down, the grass shall become reeds and rushes.”

I know He will move at Park Cities and is moving even when I don’t see it.  Pray that all of us would approach these kids after camp with grace and mercy, just as the Lord constantly come to us with the grace that we never deserve.

I always love this song and was encouraged by it today-

God, Be Merciful to Me
(Psalm 51)

God, be merciful to me;
On Thy grace I rest my plea
Plenteous in compassion Thou,
Blot out my transgressions now;
Wash me, make me pure within; 
Cleanse, O cleanse me from my sin.

My transgressions I confess; 
Grief and guilt my soul oppress. 
I have sinned against Thy grace,
And provoked Thee to Thy face.
I confess Thy judgement just;
Speechless, I Thy mercy trust.

I am evil, born in sin;
Thou desirest truth within.
Thou alone my Savior art, 
Teach Thy wisdom to my heart; 
Make me pure, Thy grace bestow, 
Wash me whiter than the snow.

Broken, humbled to the dust 
By Thy wrath and judgment just,
Let my contrite heart rejoice, 
And in gladness hear Thy voice;
From my sins O hide Thy face,
Blot them out in boundless grace.

Gracious God, my heart renew, 
Make my spirit right and true.
Cast me not away from Thee,
Let Thy Spirit dwell in me; 
Thy salvation’s joy impart, 
Steadfast make my willing heart.

Sinners then shall learn from me,
And return, O God, to Thee 
Savior all my guilt remove, 
And my tongue shall sing Thy love
Touch my silent lips, O Lord,
And my mouth shall praise accord.

One Response to “Let my contrite heart rejoice”

  1. laurenmechetner said

    i read this in Let The Nations Be Glad (j.Piper) and it made me think of all that we’ve been praying for since you’ve been home from camp: “This confidence in the sovereignty of God and the triumph of his cause is essential in the prayers of God’s people and the mission of the church.”

    …i think this is exactly what this post is telling all of us.

Leave a Reply

