Saturday Thoughts

June 6, 2009

This post is going to be dedicated to the simple things in life that helped contribute to making my life great this week:

1. Nectarines-

nectarine1

The nectarine is a cultivar group of peach that has a smooth, fuzzless skin. Though fuzzy peaches and nectarines are commercially regarded as different fruits, with nectarines often erroneously believed to be a crossbreed between peaches and plums, or a “peach with a plum skin”, they belong to the same species as peaches. -wikipedia

I didn’t know what I was missing out on…

2. Blogs- 

il_430xN.71929070I really do love so many blogs.  I feel informed about the lives of those close to me even when I am so far away.  Stacey is always really good about introducing me to all of her favorites.  I found a link today to this adorable shop on etsy- CottonCandy By Natalie. She makes camera straps that are SO CUTE.  The original site I was looking at is called Twig and Thistle.  I haven’t done much investigating, but they are giving away a camera strap.  I have never seen one this presh and thought others some of you may want one.  

Other blogs to visit:

Anna Maria Horner

Pioneer Woman

Bakerella

And of course all my friends down at the bottom.  Its hard not to get lost on the internet. 

 

3. Elizabeth Elliot-

I have been reading 418XBxX4sfL._SL500_AA240_this wonderful Elizabeth Elliot book lately.  She has always had so much wisdom to share and truth to comprehend.  Sophie sent me a lot of encouraging quotes of Elliot’s last semester.  I really appreciate this woman’s words so I thought I would share a few that I have enjoyed lately….

“The way you keep your house, the way you organize your time, the care you take in your personal appearance, the things you spend your money on all speak loudly about what you believe.  ‘The beauty of Thy peace’ shines forth in an ordered life.  A disordered life speaks loudly of disorder in the soul” (37).

“What sort of world might it have been if Eve had refused the serpent’s offer and had said to him instead, ‘Let me not be like God.  Let me be what I was made to be- let me be a woman’?  But the sin was fatal beyond their worst imaginings.  It was hubris, a lifting up of the soul in defiance of God, the pride that usurps another’s place.  It is a damnable kind of pride” (16).

There are so many other great thoughts in this book.  It is teaching me how far I am from really understanding my purpose as a woman.  My life does not at all reflect what a follower of Christ’s life should be.  But then I am reminded that this is the very reason that Christ came.  Jeremiah’s plea with Israel to come back from whoredom and become that which she already is rings so true to my soul.  I have put other things in the place of God and tried to flea Christ’s righteousness when this is the only cure to my horrible disease.  All this to say…. I need to keep reading Elizabeth’s words and Scripture to point me back to my ultimate purpose as woman- to glorify God and to enjoy Him forever. 

4. Getting my Nikon out of its bag for the 1st time in Texas ( I know… I’m crazy.)-

Today is Michael and Kyndi’s 6 year anniversary.  They rented a vespa and went all over the city.  Kait and I got to play with the kids all morning and afternoon.  I decided that since I have been here for 3 weeks, I should probably get out one of my very favorite possessions- the NIKON.  So here are the results-

DSC_0332

Lucy almost fell over while coloring.

DSC_0333

DSC_0336

DSC_0348

This shows the distance from the Rudzena’s to the church… real real far.

DSC_0350

DSC_0353

Jack and Lucy were coloring Kait’s feet with chalk.

I adore these children.

5. Coffee Overload-

Kait and I have experienced almost every coffee shop in the area.  I completely support local coffee before anything else.  My only complaint about the newest ones we have been to is that there are no comfy chairs.  I have been reading in normal restaurant chairs.  Not a good thing at all.  If you aren’t picky about chair selection then I would highly suggest the following: Buzz Brew, Cafe Brazil, and White Rock Coffee.

6. Dates on the Calendar-

Here is the really great news- all of the loose ends about this summer got tied up this week.  Firstly, I am now going to Guatemala in July with the 9th and 10th graders (if my new passport comes in time).  Secondly, I am trying out for American Idol June 26 in Dallas.  Finally, the dates were posted for that.  No more worries. Thirdly, I am going to Memphis THIS THURSDAY!  I am so so happy to go home and see the fam.  And Jen and her family will be in town from Connecticut.  It has probably been a year since I have seen all of them. And last, but for sure not least, Lauren and Ryan booked plane tickets to come down in 15 days!  All of this information seems too good to be true, but its real.  Its on my calendar and it is real. 

Miscellaneous Thoughts-

On the internship side of things, everything is going really well.  I am just a little concerned because a lot of the girls that I have gotten acquainted with are going to be out of town for a large portion of the summer.  It has been a lot harder to connect with students that I had expected.  This leads to disappointment and expectations that are not met, but this has caused more unity within our team.  Andrew (the youth pastor) has been really encouraging to us to push through and then be all the more rewarded at the end of the summer.  I know that the Lord has called me here this summer.  I am just trying to figure out exactly why.  Keep me in your prayers and also for all of the other Student Ministry Staff as we try to develop a biblical discipleship program that further engages students at Park Cities.

This might have been information overload, but it was necessary.  Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

3 Responses to “Saturday Thoughts”

  1. Jen said

    I cannot tell you how stoked I am to see you and in just days, baby!!!!

  2. Amy said

    I MISS YOU! SO good to hear about all of these things. Elisabeth Elliot is the best, such encouraging stuff. Ill try and call you soon!

  3. laurenmechetner said

    there is a lot to say right now:
    1. those camera straps are incredible and almost worth paying for. almost.
    2. those pics with the NIKON are some goodies. im impressed.
    3. get ready for photo shoot every minute of every day of the VACA IN TEHAS!
    4. did your nectarines come in those preshi boxes? i got some blackberries in containers like that last summer from the farmer’s market and i use them still. i love paper crate/box/things.
    5. I LOVE YOU MORE!!!

Leave a Reply

