Dallas, Texas- Volume 1

May 21, 2009

DallasSkyline

Here is the update:

Life in Dallas is awesome.  I really love it so much and could not be happier with the way this summer is looking.  The vision of the staff that I have stepped into is exactly where I felt the Lord calling me this summer and it has been such a blessing to actually be here to get it going.  I guess a summary of each day would be the easiest way to describe life:

Monday- We went to the office and met our new bosses- the 2 youth pastors and the admin woman.  Then we all went to Six Flags over Texas to hang out and get to know each other.  It was a great way to get everyone to talk and get to know each other… plus get a little dizzy.  Once we got back to the church, Memphis/High School crew (Kait, Me, Lee, and Scott) went over to Michael and Kyndi Rudzena’s for dinner.  Its such an amazing blessing to have them here and they have been awesome in serving us.  All the boys played outside with the kids, while the girls made dinner.  The conversation is so great with everyone and I really feel sharpened.  I’m pretty sure we went to bed around 10 that night.

Tuesday- We got to the office and basically went over our job description.  In this really short amount of time we have already gotten really close with the staff.  I am so encouraged to hear their hearts about ministry and also just how they hope to build us up this summer.  I am assigned 9th and 10th grade girls, so I called them and introduced myself via voice mail…  then got a facebook (blah) to friend them.  I am using it strictly for communication with the girls.  Don’t be offended if you don’t get added…its just not gonna happen.  We came home from work and hung out with the family we are staying with.   We met their niece who is our new B.F.F.  She has the exact same music taste as me and Kait and is also a singer.  She is legit though.  I am a fan of the stuff she has recorded.  Its really funny how much stuff we have in common.  Her family attends Grace Chapel where Kim and the boys go in Nash.  She is staying in Dallas with her aunt to take summer classes and doesn’t know many people.  Hang out/ jam sessions will be happening soon.  After they left, we went to White Rock Coffee with the guys and Becky (Lee’s girlfriend).  Then we hit up this hill that provides a great view of the city- basically a zoomed out version of the pic above.  These are just a couple reasons I love Dallas.

Wednesday- We hit up Highland Park… a killer nice school.  Its one of the nicest and wealthiest public schools in Texas.  That’s where the majority of our kids go.  I was extremely relieved to meet some freshman girls who are not like all the others.  They were really excited and so glad to meet us.  After HP lunch, we went back to church to prep for Crosswalk (wed. night church).  I got to meet a ton of other students along with hanging out with the ones I had met earlier.  Kait and I got to sing together…. one of my favorites.  There are so many opportunities for us to pour into kids and I really can’t wait to get it going.  After church we went to the Rudzena’s again… another night of great convo/American Idol results.  I can’t emphasize enough how much of a blessing it is to have them here.

Today-  We went into work and did a little bit to get ready for church Sunday.  Then we went to Lake Highlands (another high school).  There weren’t near as many of our kids at this school so that is a goal that we need to work toward.  After work, I walked over to the Preston Center (not Western’s work out facility, but a mall-ish place).  I got a smoothie from Jamba Juice… SO GOOD.. then just talked to Chet while sitting on a bench outside.  After that I just walked over to Kyndi’s to say hey.  Everything is so close and in literally walking distance. It feels like vacation and I love it.  

We don’t have to do anything work wise until Sunday morning…. so this weekend is relax/figure out Dallas.  We are house sitting for the family we are staying with so that makes it a lot more chill.  Hopefully that was a good summary!  Thanks for the prayers and the encouragement.  It means so much to me.

6 Responses to “Dallas, Texas- Volume 1”

  1. Grandy said

    It sounds like you are off to a great start. Thanks so much for the up-date, I loved it and you. Grandy

  2. Su Madre said

    The daily update ROCKS! I love you so, may God bless you every step of this adventure. Please thank the Rudzena’s on my behalf, sounds like they are taking great care of you :) Good night my sweet.

  3. danielhassell said

    wow, thats a very informative post! good job Charlotte! Im glad to hear everything is going so well. im praying for ya friend!

  4. Pigeon said

    Hey Chaz, I feel so accomplished.. I actually just read the blog and got a little groove going on.. smile… feel like I am there! Glad all is finding its place for you… especially that you are working with the age you have been assigned.. I always worked with that age.. seeems like they are making firm decisions on which road they are going to go … and will remain on it through college.. It is a privilege that the Lord is allowing you to intervene and redirect many who are on the wide and easy road… and pointing them to the narrow one… it is the safest and the rewarding one… I pray for you to be wise and filled with the Holy Spirit! Love you sweet baby…. Pigeon

  5. Pigeon said

    Hey, this is my second try… I typed a great note (if I do say so myself!) and somehow, with my prowess in the computer world… it simly disappeared… who knew? Anyway, I am feeling rather accomplished since I have never replied to a blog before.. wonder of wonders… I was particularly smiley when I read you were working with 9th and 10th graders… that is the age I use to work with… they are making pretty firm decisions about the path they will choose… and will stay on it until after college… so, you are seriously given a sobering opportunity to be a person to point the way off the wide and easy path to the narrow and rewarding one… it is the only one, as we both know, that has joy everlasting…. love you sweet baby… pigeon

  6. your broha said

    so i really like your blog and im so glad that God is blessing you in Texas! you are in my prayers, and i’m not gonna lie i really miss you at home! I can’t wait to see you soon!
    love, holmes

Leave a Reply

