Simply to the Cross I Cling

April 12, 2009

As the most important day in Christianity comes to a close, I want to encourage you to think again on its meaning.  Today is the day when sin forever loses its power.  It is the day that death forever loses its sting.  It is the day that believers wake up in new hope becoming the body of Christ they are promised to become.  Today has implications that I will never understand or see complete until I am in heaven seeing the full glory of God.  If the resurrection of Christ is not so, I should forsake all that I have believed…. but it is so!  

The Gospel is true.  Christ is fully God and fully man.  He came in the form of man perfectly keeping the Law.  He was nailed to the tree and breathed His last while bearing your and my sin.  All of God’s wrath was poured out on Him.  He is the propitiation- drinking down the cup of wrath to the dregs.  But the story does not end there.  Three days later, He rose.  He made a way for us to live new lives.  Christ showed His power and Lordship.  

There in the ground His body lay,
Light of the world by darkness slain;
Then bursting forth in glorious day,
Up from the grave He rose again!
And as He stands in victory,
Sin’s curse has lost its grip on me;
For I am His and He is mine—
Bought with the precious blood of Christ.

Without the truth of the Gospel, I am dead.  My life ends when I die.  But Christ has made a way for me to live without separation from God.  His resurrection is sanctifying me even now to become more like Himself.  Life is made new again because He lives today.  Simply to the cross I cling.  Praise the Lord for this day.  He has drawn me to Himself and given grace so I can hear this truth and believe.

I got to celebrate this day with the believers at Burton today.  We had a great service and Sunday school followed by a traditional lunch.  It was so encouraging to be with this body today and see their joy on the day of the resurrection.  I have been so blessed by this church and the truth they speak into my life.  I hope your Easter was encouraging too.

Leave a Reply

